Vice Vixen


A worthy tribute to the best magazine ever
July 10, 2007, 12:07 am
Filed under: geek love, i own it, indolence, nyc, pride, sassy, the good fight

Through the years, I’ve often reflected on Sassy and its cultural influence on the climate I grew up in, myself, and my friends.  We still use Sassy slang, and I know for a fact Sassy invented fitted tees and celeb portmanteaus.  When I heard there was a book about it all, I was excited but skeptical it would be able to capture what that magazine truly meant to me.

And yet it does, perfectly.  The exciting realization that yes, there were other girls like me and we were infinitely cooler than the cookie cutter types, the DIY fashion pages that were super-cool, the laugh out loud funny staff writings I still remember vividly, and of course, the betrayed feeling when after that interminable absence we were presented with what was called “Stepford Sassy.”  I was strangely surprised to learn so many other girls felt like they lost a friend.

So if you feel the way I do, and I know a lot of you do, have a look at How Sassy Changed My Life: A Love Letter to the Greatest Teen Magazine of All Time.  It’s sad and even emotional to read, but it’s worth it to reminisce about something that was so pivotal in the lives of many strong, sassy women today.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

